

Philip Kotler is S. C. Johnson & Son Distinguished Professor of International Marketing at the J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University. He received his master's degree at the University of Chicago and his PhD at MIT, both in Economics. Dr Kotler is author of Marketing Management: Analysis, Planning, Implementation and Control (Prentice Hall). He has authored several other successful books and he has written over 100 articles for leading journals. He is the only three-time winner of the Alpha Kappa Psi award for the best annual article in the Journal of Marketing. Dr Kotler's numerous major honours include the Paul D. Converse Award given by the American Marketing Association to honour 'outstanding contributions to the science of marketing' and the Stuart Henderson Brit Award as Marketer of the Year. In 1985, he was named the first recipient of two major awards: the Distinguished Marketing Educator of the Year Award, given by the American Marketing Association, and the Philip Kotler Award for Excellence in Health Care Marketing. Dr Kotler has served as a director of the American Marketing Association. He has consulted with many major US and foreign companies on marketing strategy.



Veronica Wong, BSc, MBA (Bradford), PhD (Manchester), Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing, is Professor of Marketing and Head of the Marketing Group at Aston Business School. She is Vice-President (Conferences) of the European Marketing Academy and a member of the UK's Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Virtual College for Management, Psychology, Linguistics and Education. She was born in Malaysia where she studied until her first degree. Previously, Dr Wong worked at the Universities of Loughborough and Warwick. She has also taught in Malaysia and worked for Ciba Laboratories, UK. She has worked with a wide range of international firms and government and private bodies concerned with product innovation and its management, including Britain's Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Innovation Advisory Unit and the Marketing Council. She has also published over sixty articles for leading journals, including publications in the Journal of International Business Studies, the Journal of Product Innovation Management, Technovation and Industrial Marketing Management.





John Saunders, BSc (Loughborough), MBA (Cranfield), PhD (Bradford), FEMAC, FBAM, FCIM, FRSA is Professor of Marketing, Head of Aston Business School and Pro-Vice Chancellor of Aston University. Previously, he worked for Hawker Siddeley and British Aerospace and has acted as a consultant for many leading organisations, including Rolls-Royce, Unilever, Nestlé, Ford, the European Commission, the Cabinet Office and the Singapore Government. He is Dean of the CIM's senate and a member of the steering committee of the EFMD and AACS International's initial accreditation committee. His international experience includes work as a business school accreditor for EQUIS and AACSB, and he assisted in the national research assessment exercises of the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and New Zealand. His publications include *The Marketing Initiative* and co-authorship of *Marketing Strategy* and *Competitive Positioning*. He has published over eighty refereed journal articles, including publications in the *Journal of Marketing Journal of Marketing Research, Marketing Science, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of Product Innovation Management* and *International Journal of Research in Marketing*.



Gary Armstrong is Professor and Chair of Marketing in the Kenan-Flagler Business School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He received his PhD in marketing from Northwestern University. Dr Armstrong has contributed numerous articles to leading research journals and consulted with many companies on marketing strategy; however, his first love is teaching. He has been very active in Kenan-Flagler's undergraduate business programme and he has received several campus-wide and business schools teaching awards. In 2004, Dr Armstrong received for the fourth time the UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, the highest teaching honour bestowed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.